Penn State’s Third National Title Caps Successful Showing for B1G Wrestlers


For the third season in a row, the Penn State Nittany Lions are NCAA Division I wrestling national champions.

PSU accumulated 123.5 team points over the course of the three day tournament to capture the team crown. Oklahoma State finished second, just four points behind.

The championship is the fourth all-time for the Nittany Lions who captured their first ever crown back in 1953.

Ed Ruth (184 pounds, 33-0) and Quentin Wright (197, 32-0) each capped off perfect seasons with individual titles. 

Penn State’s team title was the icing on the cake for what proved to be a fruitful weekend for the Big Ten Conference.  In total, 82 wrestlers from the conference qualified for nationals. To put that number in perspective, consider that there are only 120 spots in wrestling lineups across the league.

Each of the 12 teams qualified at least three grapplers for the event.  PSU and Minnesota both saw their entire lineups make the trek to Des Moines.

But the success didn’t end once the first whistle blew. The B1G had a combined 24 of its wrestlers, from nine different schools achieve All-American status, 12 grapplers qualify for the finals, and produced six of the 10 individual champions.

In addition to Ruth and Wright, Jesse Delgado (125) of Illinois, Ohio State’s Logan Stieber (133), Iowa’s Derek St. John (157), and Tony Nelson (285) of Minnesota all took home top honors individually.

The Nittany Lions were the only conference squad with more than one individual champion. Minnesota produced the most All-Americans, finishing with a total of eight.

The conference also boasts five of the top-10 finishers in the team race. 


Photo from